skip navigation

Vote for the 2016 Subway Goal of the Year

By sradmin, 11/07/16, 2:45PM PST


Choose from eight of Republic FC’s best goals from 2016 in the quarterfinals round of voting.

Sacramento Republic FC’s 2016 Subway Goal of the Year title is up for grabs between eight of the best goals scored by Republic FC during 2016.

Subway Goal of the Year voting will consist of a quarterfinal, semifinal and final round, with the quarterfinal round of voting kicking off Monday, Nov. 7.

The first bracket for the Subway Goal of the Year is between forward Cameron Iwasa’s home-opener goal on Apr. 4 against Arizona United SC and midfielder Danny Barrera’s free kick finish against Tulsa Roughnecks FC on Sept. 24.

Next, defender Emrah Klimenta’s perfect finish against LA Galaxy II on May 7 squares off against loan player Tommy Thompson’s goal against Portland Timbers 2 on Aug. 20.

In the next bracket, Thompson is up once again as he finds his way through the Seattle Sounders FC 2’s backline to score on May 14. That goal is up against a stunning volley from defender Mike da Fonte scored on July 10 against Orange County Blues FC.

In the last bracket of the quarterfinals, defender James Kiffe’s goal in the May 21 friendly against Liverpool FC U21s is up against Iwasa’s goal on June 18 against Rio Grande Valley FC Toros, the fastest goal in club history.

Voting for the quarterfinals for the 2016 Subway Goal of the Year will run until Friday, Nov. 11 at 9 p.m. PT.

The winning goals for the Subway Goal of the Year quarterfinals will advance to the semifinals, which will open at 9 a.m. on Saturday, Nov. 12.