skip navigation

Republic FC Midfielder Roberto Hategan Called Up To U.S. U-18 Men's National Team

By Republic FC Staff, 08/20/18, 6:30PM PDT


The 17-year-old will travel to the Czech Republic to compete in the 2018 Vaclav Jezek Youth Tournament.

Sacramento Republic FC midfielder Roberto Hategan has been called up to the U.S. Under-18 Men’s National Team that will head to Vrchlabí, Czech Republic, to compete in the 2018 Vaclav Jezek Youth Tournament from August 18-26.

The U-18s will face off against the United Arab Emirates on August 21, followed by Bulgaria the next day. They’ll conclude the group play against the host nation, Czech Republic, on August 24.

This is Hatagan’s third call-up to the U-18s this year. The Chicago native was called up to the first-ever U.S. Soccer Men’s Youth National Team Summit in early January, along with Republic FC Academy players Kwabena Boateng, Hunter George, Quincy Butler and Gavin Krenecki. The camp featured players from the U-16s all the way up to the U-20s.

Hategan leads the club in call-ups, having been called up to a U.S. Soccer Youth team seven times since first joining the SRFC Academy in 2015. Four of those were while he was still a member of the Academy under current Republic FC Head Coach and then-U-15/16 Head Coach Simon Elliott, while the last three have come as a member of the Republic FC first team roster. The 17-year-old midfielder made his first team debut in a friendly on July 15, 2017, in a friendly against Liga MX club CF Pachuca.

Republic FC continue USL play this weekend when they travel to Nevada to take on Reno 1868 FC on Saturday, August 25. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. and the match will be broadcast live on KQCA My58, Estrella TV and ESPN+.


GOALKEEPERS (2): David Ochoa (Real Salt Lake; Oxnard, Calif.), Kristopher Shakes (Bethlehem Steel FC; Coral Springs, Fla.)

DEFENDERS (7): Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy; Lompoc, Calif.), Nico Benalcazar (New York City FC; Wilton, Conn.); Nathan Harriel (Chargers Soccer Club; Oldsmar, Fla.), Julian Hinojosa (FC Dallas; Garland, Texas), Owen Otasowie (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC; New York, N.Y.), Stuart Ritchie (FC Groningen; Schoolstraat, Netherlands), Leonardo Sepulveda (LA Galaxy; Corona, Calif.)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Taylor Booth (Unattached; Eden, Utah), Justin Haak (New York City FC; Brooklyn, N.Y.), Aidan Morris (Crew SC Academy; Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.); Marcelo Palomino (Houston Dynamo; Houston, Texas); Thomas Roberts (FC Dallas; Little Rock, Ark.), Indiana Vassilev (Aston Villa F.C.; Savannah, Ga.)

FORWARDS (6): Roberto Hategan (Sacremento Republic F.C.; Chicago, Ill.), Ulysses Llanez (LA Galaxy; Lynwood, Calif.), Axel Picaxo (Philadelphia Union; Chester Springs, Penn.), Bryan Reynolds (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), Gabe Segal (Bethesda SC; Bethesda, Md.), Folarin Balogun (Arsenal FC; South Ockendon, England)


Follow Republic FC on social media. 

Latest News