skip navigation

USL Championship Unveils 2019 Conference Alignment

By USL Championship Staff, 12/13/18, 3:45PM PST


36-team lineup sees four expansion clubs in East, Saint Louis & Swope Park shift conferences

TAMPA, Fla. – The USL Championship today announced its conference alignment for the league’s 2019 regular season. The league will feature 36 teams across two conferences in the upcoming season, with the clubs set to embark on a 34-game regular-season schedule that will be conducted over 33 weeks and open on the weekend of March 8-10, 2019.

Four of the league’s expansion arrivals will join the Eastern Conference, with Birmingham Legion FC, Hartford Athletic, Loudoun United FC and Memphis 901 FC joining the conference led by defending USL Cup champion Louisville City FC.

The Eastern Conference also features two new arrivals in Saint Louis FC and the Swope Park Rangers, who make the move after both reaching the USL Cup Playoffs in the Western Conference a season ago.

The remaining three expansion clubs – Austin Bold FC, El Paso Locomotive FC and New Mexico United – join the Western Conference for their inaugural seasons. The addition of Austin and El Paso to the conference gives the USL Championship four clubs in Texas for the first time, while New Mexico and El Paso are set to engage in a strong regional rivalry with the clubs separated by just over 250 miles.

2019 USL Championship Conference Alignment

Western Conference Eastern Conference
Austin Bold FC ATL UTD 2
Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC Bethlehem Steel FC
El Paso Locomotive FC Birmingham Legion FC
Fresno FC Charleston Battery
LA Galaxy II Charlotte Independence
Las Vegas Lights FC Hartford Athletic
New Mexico United Indy Eleven
OKC Energy FC Loudoun United FC
Orange County SC Louisville City FC
Phoenix Rising FC Memphis 901 FC
Portland Timbers 2 Nashville SC
Real Monarchs SLC New York Red Bulls II
Reno 1868 FC North Carolina FC
Rio Grande Valley FC Ottawa Fury FC
Sacramento Republic FC Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC
San Antonio FC Saint Louis FC
Seattle Sounders FC 2 Swope Park Rangers
Tulsa Roughnecks FC Tampa Bay Rowdies

Home openers for the 2019 USL Championship season and the full 2019 regular season schedule will be announced at a future date.


Follow Republic FC on social media. 

Latest News